How to Keep Daggerboard Down?

Several begginer classes, a full year of El Toro junior yacht club program and finally the maiden voyage of a brand new Laser into the program. We can't keep the daggerboard down. We've adjusted the so called rubber stop in increments untill it was obviously over extended after first stretching the stock shock cord to it's limit. We achieved some improvement with these two maxed out adjustments but the board still floats up a foot or so. We've had to jamb control line in the slot to keep it down.:confused: Hoping for some solution.

I'm a beginner as well. So far I have found that if I make the bungee TOO tight it pulls the centerboard up. Try loosening and see if that helps.

I am happy to join with you today in what will go down in history as the greatest demonstration for freedom in the history of sailing.
Two score years ago, a great Canadian, in whose symbolic shadow we stand today, signed the Laser foil design. This momentous decree came as a great beacon light of hope to millions of daggerboards who had been seared in the flames of withering injustice. It came as a joyous daybreak to end the long night of their captivity.
But forty years later, the daggerboard still is not free. Forty years later, the life of the daggerboard is still sadly crippled by the manacles of segregation and the chains of discrimination. Forty years later, the daggerboard lives on a lonely vertical slot in the midst of a vast ocean of keels and centerboards. Forty years later, the daggerboard is still languishing in the corners of sailing society and finds himself an exile in his own waters. So we have come here today to dramatize a shameful condition.