Complete beginner, wondering what an good low budget beginner ratchet block I should get. (more info in post)

JW123

Hey all!
I am fixing up a 70s sunfish and I need to get a ratchet block for it. I am a very beginner and just need something good enough. I can always upgrade later, so right now I am just wanting something to get me started that is lower cost (since I am also needing to replace more or less all the hardware as most is missing, its adding up.)
I see there is some that are manual and some that are automatic, some are around $40, and some are around $100 (or more). I watched a couple quick videos on them trying to decide, but I probably need a little experience before I completely understand what would be best for right now.

So if you have any suggestions let me know.

Thanks!

Intensity Sail sells a couple of low price ratchet blocks which are both manual. I have the Harken 2135 which is $80 but there is also the Nautos block which is $40. I'm happy with the Harken. Maybe someone on this forum has experience with the Nautos?

You'll also need a standup spring and a stainless steel eye strap which are fairly cheap. There are instructions on the forum on how to install the block in the lip of the cockpit overhang. Hope this helps!

Thanks for the suggestions, I will look at them.
As a beginner, should I start with a manual or automatic?

I have both of those. I’d honestly just get the Harken 2135 now. It’s a better ratchet block, should last for many years, and is worth the extra cost.

Thanks danpal and tag. I will take the advice and go with the Harken 2135.
Cant wait to get this all reassembled and on the lake.

I show the hardware you’ll need in this blog post:

Picture is from a Minifish, the same hardware and set up works on the lip of the Sunfish cockpit.

mainsheet-cleat-parts-list.png

Thanks for that Tag. I have for the eyestrap ordered, and I have added the spring and spring cup in with the ratchet block.