Sunfish rebuild

braindamage

hi all

Noob here and first time post. I just was given a sunfish from my dad. It's been sitting behind his house for 20+ years with no use.

I'm not new to sunfish as our family had a sunfish rental business while I was in high school and college. After I left my dad sold all but the best one (now mine).

While back there a slab of ice fell from the roof and damaged the hull.

It's also covered in some sort of "moss" or something.

I want to get it going for some sailing this summer. Any ideas on how to remove the "moss"? Also, it's been 25 yrs since I've done any repairs so any threads that help me would be appreciated. I tried the search a few times but it just locked up my browser.

Pics:

Attachments

• IMG_1791.JPG
    IMG_1791.JPG
    681.2 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_1792.JPG
    IMG_1792.JPG
    981.9 KB · Views: 100
Use a electric power washer, makes short work of the job and not
enough pressure to do damage. I've never tried a gas pressure washer but
I think it would work fine if you use a wide nozzle and don't crank
the pressure up. Set it up like you would when spraying vinyl siding
on a house.

Soft scrub bathroom cleaner with bleach, wet it down good, brush it in and let it sit for 15 min. Rinse

hi all

Noob here and first time post. I just was given a sunfish from my dad. It's been sitting behind his house for 20+ years with no use.

I'm not new to sunfish as our family had a sunfish rental business while I was in high school and college. After I left my dad sold all but the best one (now mine).

While back there a slab of ice fell from the roof and damaged the hull.

It's also covered in some sort of "moss" or something.

I want to get it going for some sailing this summer. Any ideas on how to remove the "moss"? Also, it's been 25 yrs since I've done any repairs so any threads that help me would be appreciated. I tried the search a few times but it just locked up my browser.

Pics: