Identifying Vintage Laser

CraigT54

I acquired an older series Laser when I purchased a cabin in northern Michigan. I can see from a bracket on the back side that it was built in Canada. It has a wooden rudder and center board (recently refinished). The sail number (printed in big letters on the sail) is 1214 if that means anything. I'm interested in preparing the laser for sale. It's in decent condition with all new lines still in the package. Obviously, I'm a novice at sailboats, so don't know what all to list but thought it best to start in advertising it by finding out what year it was made. I have a number of photos available but the bracket above is the only identifying object I've seen.

Attachments

• Laser.jpg
    Laser.jpg
    241 KB · Views: 63
  • IMG_1857.jpg
    IMG_1857.jpg
    347.1 KB · Views: 64
  • IMG_1859.jpg
    IMG_1859.jpg
    420.5 KB · Views: 58
Looks and sounds very much like one of the earliest Lasers, built by the original Performance Sailcraft company in Montreal. The sail number should be the same as the hull number, which you can find under the bow fitting. There should be a plate/sticker on the back wall of the cockpit, too, but it sounds like it's gone. No number on the transom either?

The building year would be 1971 (the first ever) or 1972 at the latest. I should go to my own cabin/summer cottage to find my copy of the original Laser Sailing book by Dick Tillman for more information...

Purchased a cabin on a lake and now selling your toys? That doesn't sound right!
Mike, it's been cleaned up and parts refitted but never get around to using it. Looking for something more leisurely I can take my grandkids along with me. Looks like fun, though. Craig

LaLi, what's the 'bow fitting'? I don't recall seeing any other plates on the boat. Craig